Main Menu


Quick Facts

•    Muharram (Arabic: المحرّم) is the first month of the Islamic calendar.
•    The word “Muharram” means “Forbidden” and is derived from the word harām, meaning “sinful”.
•    Muharram is one of the four sacred Months out of twelve. The other being ZiQad, ZilHajj and Rajab.
•    These four months have been sacred since the creation of universe – as told by Allah Subhana Watala in the Quran.
•    It is held to be the most sacred of all the months, excluding Ramadan. Some Muslims fast during these days.
•    After Ramadan, fasting in the month of Muharram is most rewardable.
•    Some Muslims regard Muharram as the month of mourning, commemorating the Battle of Karbala.
•    They may also attend special prayer meetings in mosques or private homes. Not all Muslim groups observe this occasion in the same manner.
•    Ashura, which literally means the “Tenth” in Arabic, refers to the tenth day of Muharram.
•    It is well-known because of historical significance and mourning for the martyrdom of Hussein ibn Ali, the grandson of Muhammad.
•    Fasting on the Ashura was obligatory on the Muslims before the fasts of Ramadan were made obligatory.
•    Muharram is a gazetted holiday in India.
•    The Pulikali, also known as the tiger dance, is part of the Muharram celebration in Kerala.

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License